the guardian

the guardian

Hey Mali! The Malian musicians fighting Islamists with songs | Guardian Docs

3h ago
SOURCE  

Description

There's no life without music: the Malian musicians fighting Islamists with songs. Subscribe to The Guardian ► http://is.gd/subscribeguardian All music was banned in northern Mali in 2012 by Islamist militants. But musicians such as Khaira Arby refused to accept it. The last two years have seen a collective of musicians taking Mali's rich musical heritage across the outskirts of war-torn Mali and into neighboring Burkina Faso on a grand Caravan of Peace – an offshoot of Mali’s famous Festival in the Desert. Created to celebrate Music Freedom Day, this short film is a companion to the feature length documentary They Will have to Kill us First, and features scenes exclusive to the Guardian. Can the musicians of Mali rescue their music in exile? Featuring music from Songhoy Blues, Khaira Arby, Vieux Farka Touré and Nick Zinner (Yeah Yeah Yeahs). They Will Have To Kill Us First plays SXSW in Austin, Texas, next week and will then tour the world ► http://theywillhavetokillusfirst.com/ Why you should hear Songhoy Blues' album Music in Exile ► http://bit.ly/wyshtw Guardian website ► http://is.gd/guardianhome Endboard videos: The SlumGods of Mumbai ► http://bit.ly/slumgodsmumbai My friend the suicide bomber ► http://bit.ly/myfriendthesuicidebomber Guardian playlists: Comment is Free ► http://is.gd/cifplaylist Guardian Docs ► http://is.gd/guardiandocs Guardian Animations & Explanations ►http://is.gd/explainers Guardian Investigations ► http://is.gd/guardianinvestigations Other Guardian channels on YouTube: Watch Me Date ► http://is.gd/watchmedate Guardian Football ► http://is.gd/guardianfootball Guardian Music ► http://is.gd/guardianYTmusic Guardian Australia ► http://is.gd/guardianaustralia Guardian Tech ► http://is.gd/guardiantech Guardian Culture ► http://is.gd/guardianculture Guardian Wires ► http://is.gd/guardianwires Guardian Food ► http://is.gd/guardianfood More Guardian videos: Mos Def force fed in Gitmo procedure ► http://is.gd/mosdef Edward Snowden interview ► http://is.gd/snowdeninterview2014 Bangladeshi Sex Workers take steroids ► http://is.gd/sexworkers How your phone spies on you ► http://is.gd/phonespying What is freedom today? ► http://is.gd/zizekcif 30 Stone man enters Mr Gay UK ► http://is.gd/stavros Fighting Isis in Kobani ► http://is.gd/fightingisis How does Ebola kill? ► http://is.gd/ebolakills The SlumGods of Mumbai ► http://is.gd/slumgods Jesus "would have been an atheist" ► http://is.gd/dawkinsjesus The new global menace ► http://is.gd/owenjonescif