the guardian

the guardian

The golden poison frog: 'Like holding a loaded gun' | Guardian Docs

3d ago
SOURCE  

Description

Lucy Cooke, the 'amphibian avenger', really loves frogs. Subscribe to The Guardian ► http://is.gd/subscribeguardian She travels to a remote region of Colombia's wild west to look for one of the world's most toxic animals: phyllobates terribilis, the golden poison frog. Protecting it from extinction isn't an easy job – it lives among gold mines, drug runners, guerillas and local people sceptical of protecting a frog that could kill them. Can Lucy's love for this rare orange frog convince them? With thanks to: • Britdoc • The Rainforest Trust • Pro Aves • Synchronicity Earth Foundation Guardian website ► http://is.gd/guardianhome Endboard videos: ► ► Guardian playlists: Comment is Free ► http://is.gd/cifplaylist Guardian Docs ► http://is.gd/guardiandocs Guardian Animations & Explanations ►http://is.gd/explainers Guardian Investigations ► http://is.gd/guardianinvestigations Other Guardian channels on YouTube: Watch Me Date ► http://is.gd/watchmedate Guardian Football ► http://is.gd/guardianfootball Guardian Music ► http://is.gd/guardianYTmusic Guardian Australia ► http://is.gd/guardianaustralia Guardian Tech ► http://is.gd/guardiantech Guardian Culture ► http://is.gd/guardianculture Guardian Wires ► http://is.gd/guardianwires Guardian Food ► http://is.gd/guardianfood More Guardian videos: Mos Def force fed in Gitmo procedure ► http://is.gd/mosdef Edward Snowden interview ► http://is.gd/snowdeninterview2014 Bangladeshi Sex Workers take steroids ► http://is.gd/sexworkers How your phone spies on you ► http://is.gd/phonespying What is freedom today? ► http://is.gd/zizekcif 30 Stone man enters Mr Gay UK ► http://is.gd/stavros Fighting Isis in Kobani ► http://is.gd/fightingisis How does Ebola kill? ► http://is.gd/ebolakills The SlumGods of Mumbai ► http://is.gd/slumgods Jesus "would have been an atheist" ► http://is.gd/dawkinsjesus The new global menace ► http://is.gd/owenjonescif