Message sent! Check your Phone

Parliament Adopts List of EALA Nominees

4y ago


Political intrigues pitting MPs drawn from the ODM party on the one hand and PNU legislators assisted by some ODM rebel MPs on the other dominated a voting exercise to pick 9 representatives to the East African Legislative Assembly which sits in Arusha. After a lot of lobbying and night meetings between one group led by Deputy Prime Minister Musalia Mudavadi and the other led by Eldoret North Mp William Ruto with a common aim of frustrating the ODM side of the coalition, they made sure that ODM nominees former Nyakach Mp Peter Odoyo and Ronald Ng'eny, seen as close confidantes of Odinga do not sail through. However ODM was comfortable having nominated 3 women out of their 5 slots. And as Chris Thairu reports, the 9 nominees were finally elected and are ready to be sworn in on Monday.