Message sent! Check your Phone

james taylor

james taylor

James Taylor - 1979 Flag

2y ago


Flag is singer-songwriter James Taylor's ninth album. Released in 1979, it included songs from Taylor's music score to Studs Terkel and Stephen Schwartz's Broadway musical, Working ("Millworker", "Brother Trucker"). The album was not particularly well received, but it did provide a hit in Taylor's cover version of the Gerry Goffin/Carole King composition, "Up on the Roof". The signal flag that makes up the cover of the album is "O (Oscar)", standing for "man overboard." On the 12 May 1979 episode of Saturday Night Live, James Taylor was the musical guest, and performed three songs from the album, "Up on the Roof", "Millworker", and "Johnnie Comes Back". All songs by James Taylor unless otherwise noted. "Company Man" -- 3:47 "Johnnie Comes Back" -- 3:55 "Day Tripper" (John Lennon, Paul McCartney) -- 4:25 "I Will Not Lie for You" -- 3:16 "Brother Trucker" -- 4:01 "Is That the Way You Look?" -- 1:59 "B.S.U.R." -- 3:23 "Rainy Day Man" (Taylor, Zach Wiesner) -- 3:02 "Millworker" -- 3:52 "Up on the Roof" (Gerry Goffin, Carole King) -- 4:21 "Chanson Française" -- 2:05 "Sleep Come Free Me" -- 4:43 Personnel James Taylor — guitar, vocals Don Alias — percussion Peter Asher — timbales, vocals Valerie Carter — backing vocals Dan Dugmore — pedal steel guitar Steve Forman — percussion Don Grolnick — keyboards Jimmy Johnson — bass Danny Kortchmar — guitar Russ Kunkel — drums, percussion David Lasley — backing vocals Jesse Levy — cello Arif Mardin — strings Steve Edney — backing vocals Kate Markowitz — backing vocals Arnold McCuller — backing vocals Graham Nash — vocals David Sanborn — saxophone Ralph Schuckett — keyboards Louise Schulmann — viola Carly Simon — vocals Leland Sklar — bass David Spinozza — guitar, strings Alex Taylor — backing vocals Waddy Wachtel — acoustic, electric and slide guitar