Message sent! Check your Phone

golan levin

golan levin

Does the Kinect Make Microsoft an Arts Benefactor? | Idea Channel | PBS

1y ago
SOURCE  

Description

If you haven't had a chance to play with Microsoft's Kinect, you're missing out on some great video games and some amazing art! The Kinect is a crazy awesome piece of XBox 360 hardware that maps your physical movements onto any screen. Artists of all stripes have embraced the Kinect - using the gesture recognition technology to create some pretty amazing interactive artworks and insanely impressive visuals. These works wouldn't have existed without this amazing piece of technology, making the corporate giant Microsoft the 21st century's incarnation of Lorzeno de Medici. New Idea Channel episodes now every Wednesday!!! Music By: Roglok: http://vimeo.com/musicstore/track/21166 DJ Mar.S. Aka One Milk: http://www.jamendo.com/en/artist/367557/dj-mar.s.-aka-one-milk Binarpilot: http://www.jamendo.com/en/artist/1125/binrpilot Awesome Kinect Visuals: Kinect Sound Sculpture: http://www.creativeapplications.net/processing/unnamed-soundsculpture-by-daniel-franke-cedric-kiefer-kinect-processing/ Golan Levin's AMA: http://vimeo.com/35858119 Aphex Twin Uses Kinect: http://thecreatorsproject.com/blog/aphex-twin-gets-body-dysmorphic-kinect-powered-visuals Cell Open Frameworks, Kinect: http://www.creativeapplications.net/openframeworks/cell-openframeworks-kinect/ Polycode C Framework: http://www.creativeapplications.net/c/polycode-c-framework/ Rubber Sheet Screen: http://vimeo.com/17255101 Pillow Body: http://vimeo.com/17073934 Kinect Audio Visualizer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s5vWzdGQ8BU Let us know what sorts of crazy ideas you have, about this episode and otherwise: Tweet at us! @pbsideachannel (yes, the longest twitter username ever) Email us! pbsideachannel@gmail.com Hosted by Mike Rugnetta (@mikerugnetta) Made by Kornhaber Brown (http://www.kornhaberbrown.com) Want some more Idea Channel? Here's last week's episode: "Does Nail Art Prove That Anything Can Be A Canvas for Artistic Expression?" http://youtu.be/DaYfonm51Lo Want another one? Here ya go:"Are Mashups the End of Music Genres As We Know Them?" http://youtu.be/5LiOIJ-M9F4 You want more? Check this one out:"Is Twitter the Newest Form of Literature?" http://youtu.be/4BoE-woHtwA