third stage

third stage

Kazakhstan: Soyuz crew members land safely back on Earth

16h ago
SOURCE  

Description

1. W/S Real Soyuz TMA-07M falling to earth 2. M/S Crew member in space-suit being pulled from shuttle 3. W/S Control room screen, shuttle on ground 4. M/S Chris Hadfield gives thumbs up 5. M/S Tom Marshburn being pulled from shuttle 6. M/S Roman Romanenko sitting 7. M/S Tom Marshburn sitting 8. M/S Chris Hadfield 9. W/S Crew members sitting 10. M/S Roman Romanenko smiling 11. W/S All three crew members sitting, holding hands SCRIPT Kazakhstan: Soyuz crew members land safely back on Earth Three crew members aboard the International Space Station, including now internet-famous Commander Chris Hadfield, ended five months in orbit when they landed on the steppe of Kazakhstan southeast of Dzhezkazgan Tuesday. They spent 146 days in space since launching from Kazakhstan on December 19 2012. The crew undocked their Soyuz TMA-07M spacecraft from the station at around 19.08 EDT (00.08 CET), and headed for landing in Kazakhstan southeast at around 22.31 EDT, (3.31 CET). Undocking marked the official start of Expedition 36 under command of Pavel Vinogradov of Roscosmos. NASA TV coverage of the event began Sunday, May 12, with the change of command ceremony between Hadfield and Vinogradov. The Soyuz FG rocket carrying Soyuz TMA-07M was launched at around 22.20 local time on December 19 from the Baikonur Cosodrome in freezing weather conditions. After 2 minutes and 35 seconds, the launch escape tower and payload shroud were jettisoned. The core stage continued to burn until it was shut down at 4 minutes 45 seconds. The third stage ignited two seconds later and continued to burn another 3 minutes and 57 seconds to propel Soyuz TMA-07M spacecraft into orbit. The Soyuz targeted a 200km by 242km orbit with an inclination of 51.67 degrees. Upon reaching the orbit, Soyuz deployed its solar arrays and communication antennas.