campaign manager

campaign manager

Bulgaria: Ballot scandal hits election

6d ago
SOURCE  

Description

1. M/S Woman casts her vote for Bulgarian election & gets ready to sign a verification 2. C/U Woman signs the verification along with identification card 3. M/S Person looks at wall in polling station regarding voting process 4. C/U Vote cast into ballot box 5. C/U Electoral poll clerks fill out voting forms 6. M/S Voters enter polling station room to vote 7. M/S Polling station clerks sit at table as a voter verifies his identity, next to a Bulgarian flag 8. M/S Polling station clerks continue to talk to voter who walks away, one clerk writes as another voter appears 9. C/U Polling station clerk writes verification of voter's identity 10. M/S Man who arrived at desk then casts his vote into ballot box 11. M/S Exterior of a polling station building 12. W/S City of Sofia in Bulgaria SCRIPT Bulgaria: Ballot scandal hits election The Republic of Bulgaria's general election on Sunday has been hit by low numbers of voters amidst what prosecutors say is widespread election fraud. The Chief Prosecutor's Office says they have seized 350,000 unregistered, illegally printed ballots hours before voting was to take place. As the ballot papers were taken away from the premises of Multiprint, a company commissioned by the Bulgarian government to print the official election ballots, questions have been raised as to why Multiprint was chosen to print ballot papers when it is owned by Yordan Bonchev, a municipal councillor from former Prime Minister Boiko Borisov's centre-right party. Polling stations opened at 7.00 CET (6:00 GMT) and will close at 20.00 CET (19:00 GMT) on Sunday, with the results expected to be announced at 22.30 CET (21:30 GMT). Bulgaria is undergoing its second election in 2013, after the previously elected Prime Minister Boiko Borisov was forced to resign after national protests demanded him to step down in March. Borisov has also been linked to a leaked wire-tapped conversation where his voice has been recognised talking to former Minister of Agriculture and Food Miroslav Naydenov, who is currently on trial for corruption while in office. Borisov was summoned to be interviewed at the Supreme Prosecutor's Office May 7 in connection with the ongoing illegal wiretap leak probe. Bulgaria's former Interior Minister Tsvetan Tsvetanov, the current election campaign manager for Citizens for European Development of Bulgaria (GERB), also faces charges for failing to use adequate control over the use of special surveillance devices during his term in office. But Tsvetanov is immune to prosecution because he is a candidate to become a member of parliament. Sergei Stanishev's Bulgarian Socialist Party is also standing for election. He was questioned by prosecutors April 24 about allegations that he submitted the illegal electronic eavesdropping.