Bleacher Report

Bleacher Report

  • New Smart Channel

Bayern sets track record vs. California Chrome in Pennsylvania Derby

6h ago

A new year has brought a great new crop of contenders for the 2014 Breeders' Cup Classic—of the current group of possible entries, only Moreno has Classic experience. This new group brings with it a lot of excitement, and the race has the ability t


September 20, 2014 - When California Chrome entered the starting gate for the Pennsylvania Derby it had been 105 days since making his last start in the Belmont Stakes. Chrome was denied history of becoming the first Triple Crown winner in 36 years. In the Pennsylvania Derby it was too much Bayern after this dangerous speedball got an easy lead even after running a methodical :24.1 opening quarter. Bayern trained by hall of fame trainer Bob Baffert set a new track-record in 1:46.96.Tapiture and Candy Boy finished second and third, respectively. Classic winner California Chrome was in third on the far turn but faded to sixth in his first race since the Belmont Stakes. Want to bet horse racing from home or on your mobile device? Wager legally with Watch horse racing 7-days a week on TVG (Dish 399, DirecTV 602). And don't miss the upcoming Breeders’ Cup, October 31st and November 1st. Follow us on Twitter @TVG, @TVGFeatures and Like TVG Network on Facebook. for details