The Guardian

The Guardian

ADD TO YOUR SMART CHANNEL :
  • New Smart Channel

Fear, money and racism: what’s our problem with diversity on screen?

10h ago
SOURCE  

Description

The lack of diversity in film and television dominated the debate during awards season. Subscribe to The Guardian ► http://is.gd/subscribeguardian But away from the Oscars, the UK picture is also bleak: the film Bafta acting nominees have been almost exclusively white for two years running. Leah Green looks beyond the headlines to see why diversity remains such a problem in the UK film and TV industries 6x9 experience solitary confinement ► http://bit.ly/6x9gdn The Guardian ► http://is.gd/guardianhome Suggested videos: Too black for Brazil ► http://bit.ly/TooBlackForBrazil From the Bronx to Yale ► http://bit.ly/BronxToYale Guardian playlists: Comment is Free ► http://is.gd/cifplaylist Guardian Docs ► http://is.gd/guardiandocs Guardian Features ► https://goo.gl/JThOzd Guardian Animations & Explanations ►http://is.gd/explainers Guardian Investigations ► http://is.gd/guardianinvestigations The Global Migration Crisis ► http://is.gd/RefugeeCrisis Anywhere but Westminster ► https://goo.gl/rgH1ri More Guardian videos: 6x9: experience solitary confinement – 36- video ► We Walk Together ► http://bit.ly/WeWalkTogetherFilm The last job on Earth ► http://bit.ly/LastJobOnEarth Patrick Stewart sketch: what has the ECHR ever done for us? ► http://bit.ly/PatrickStewartS How to hide a billion dollars - the Panama Papers ► http://bit.ly/HowToHide1Billion The Syrian Spaceman who became a refugee ► http://bit.ly/SyrianSpace The epic journey of a refugee cat ► http://bit.ly/KunkuzCat If I Die On Mars ► http://is.gd/IfIDieOnMars We can't ban everything that offends you ► http://bit.ly/CensorshipCiF Revenge Porn: Chrissy Chambers and her search for justice ► http://ow.ly/TUoOs Mos Def force fed in Gitmo procedure ► http://is.gd/mosdef Edward Snowden interview ► http://is.gd/snowdeninterview2014 Bangladeshi Sex Workers take steroids ► http://is.gd/sexworkers Other Guardian channels on YouTube: Guardian Football ► http://is.gd/guardianfootball Guardian Music ► http://is.gd/guardianYTmusic Guardian Australia ► http://is.gd/guardianaustralia Guardian Tech ► http://is.gd/guardiantech Guardian Culture ► http://is.gd/guardianculture Guardian Wires ► http://is.gd/guardianwires Guardian Food ► http://is.gd/guardianfood