The Guardian

The Guardian

ADD TO YOUR SMART CHANNEL :
  • New Smart Channel

The secret talks to save Isis hostage Peter Kassig | Guardian Explainers

3d ago
SOURCE  

The secret talks to save Isis hostage Peter Kassig | Guardian Explainers Revealed: the secret talks to save Isis hostage Peter Kassig. Subscribe to The Guardian ▻ http://is.gd/subscribeguardian US government officials supported secret negotiations

Description

Revealed: the secret talks to save Isis hostage Peter Kassig. Subscribe to The Guardian ► http://is.gd/subscribeguardian US government officials supported secret negotiations aimed at securing the release of American hostage Abdul-Rahman Peter Kassig, who was abducted and eventually murdered by Islamic State. Emails seen by the Guardian show how tentative talks between US lawyer Stanley Cohen, former Guantánamo Bay detainees, jihadi scholars and Isis's spiritual elite ran for several weeks before coming to an abrupt end when Jordanian security services arrested scholar Abu Muhammed al-Maqdisi, who was at the heart of the negotiations. Guardian website ► http://is.gd/guardianhome Endboard videos: ► ► Guardian playlists: Comment is Free ► http://is.gd/cifplaylist Guardian Docs ► http://is.gd/guardiandocs Guardian Animations & Explanations ►http://is.gd/explainers Guardian Investigations ► http://is.gd/guardianinvestigations Other Guardian channels on YouTube: Guardian Football ► http://is.gd/guardianfootball Guardian Music ► http://is.gd/guardianYTmusic Guardian Tech ► http://is.gd/guardiantech Guardian Food ► http://is.gd/guardianfood Guardian Culture ► http://is.gd/guardianculture More Guardian videos: Mos Def force fed in Gitmo procedure ► http://is.gd/mosdef Edward Snowden interview ► http://is.gd/snowdeninterview2014 Bangladeshi Sex Workers take steroids ► http://is.gd/sexworkers How your phone spies on you ► http://is.gd/phonespying What is freedom today? ► http://is.gd/zizekcif 30 Stone man enters Mr Gay UK ► http://is.gd/stavros Fighting Isis in Kobani ► http://is.gd/fightingisis How does Ebola kill? ► http://is.gd/ebolakills The SlumGods of Mumbai ► http://is.gd/slumgods Jesus "would have been an atheist" ► http://is.gd/dawkinsjesus The new global menace ► http://is.gd/owenjonescif