The Guardian

The Guardian

ADD TO YOUR SMART CHANNEL :
  • New Smart Channel

Happy Birthday: my campaign to liberate the people's song | Guardian Docs

8h ago
SOURCE  

Description

For years, global music publisher Warner/Chappell claimed copyright of the Happy Birthday song, demanding payment for any public performance of it. Subscribe to The Guardian ► http://is.gd/subscribeguardian Jenn Nelson tells the story of her four-year campaign to prove that the company did not in fact own the rights to the world-famous song, whose tune was composed by two sisters in Kentucky in 1893. A judge’s decision on 30 June to approve a $14m settlement means the song is now in the public domain. 6x9 experience solitary confinement ► http://bit.ly/6x9gdn The Guardian ► http://is.gd/guardianhome Suggested videos: I was Ronald McDonald ► http://bit.ly/IwasRonald The Yes Men: skip showers for beef ► http://bit.ly/TheYesMenDoc Guardian playlists: Comment is Free ► http://is.gd/cifplaylist Guardian Docs ► http://is.gd/guardiandocs Guardian Features ► https://goo.gl/JThOzd Guardian Animations & Explanations ►http://is.gd/explainers Guardian Investigations ► http://is.gd/guardianinvestigations The Global Migration Crisis ► http://is.gd/RefugeeCrisis Anywhere but Westminster ► https://goo.gl/rgH1ri More Guardian videos: 6x9: experience solitary confinement – 36- video ► We Walk Together ► http://bit.ly/WeWalkTogetherFilm The last job on Earth ► http://bit.ly/LastJobOnEarth Patrick Stewart sketch: what has the ECHR ever done for us? ► http://bit.ly/PatrickStewartS How to hide a billion dollars - the Panama Papers ► http://bit.ly/HowToHide1Billion The Syrian Spaceman who became a refugee ► http://bit.ly/SyrianSpace The epic journey of a refugee cat ► http://bit.ly/KunkuzCat If I Die On Mars ► http://is.gd/IfIDieOnMars We can't ban everything that offends you ► http://bit.ly/CensorshipCiF Revenge Porn: Chrissy Chambers and her search for justice ► http://ow.ly/TUoOs Mos Def force fed in Gitmo procedure ► http://is.gd/mosdef Edward Snowden interview ► http://is.gd/snowdeninterview2014 Bangladeshi Sex Workers take steroids ► http://is.gd/sexworkers Other Guardian channels on YouTube: Guardian Football ► http://is.gd/guardianfootball Guardian Music ► http://is.gd/guardianYTmusic Guardian Australia ► http://is.gd/guardianaustralia Guardian Tech ► http://is.gd/guardiantech Guardian Culture ► http://is.gd/guardianculture Guardian Wires ► http://is.gd/guardianwires Guardian Food ► http://is.gd/guardianfood